X-Men: Apocalypse Non-Spoiler Review

Hello! I am your hopeful reviewer Jada and this is my review of X-Men: Apocalypse. For all of those who didn’t feel like reading the title today, you’re in luck! This is my non-spoiler review for this movie. So you can continue on unspoiled. Enjoy!

Background: X-Men: Apocalypse stars James McAvoy (Victor Frankenstein, Wanted) as Professor X, Michael Fassbender (Prometheus, Steve Jobs) as Erik Lensherr/Magneto,  Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games, Joy) as Raven/Mystique, Nicholas Hoult (Warm Bodies, Mad Max: Fury Road) as Hank McCoy/Beast, Oscar Isaac (Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Inside Llewyn Davis) as En Sabah Nur/Apocalypse, Rose Byrne (Neighbors, Insidious) as Moira Mactaggert, Evan Peters (Kick-Ass, American Horror Story) as Peter Maximoff/Quicksilver, Sophie Turner (Game of Thrones, Barely Lethal) as Jean Grey, Tye Sheridan (Mud, Scouts Guide to the Zombie Apocalypse) as Scott Summers/Cyclops, Lucas Till (Walk the Line, The Spy Next Door) as Alex Summers/Havok, Kodi Smit-McPhee (Paranorman, Dawn of the planet of the Apes) as Kurt Wagner/Nightcrawler, Ben Hardy (Eastenders) as Angel, Alexandra Shipp (Straight Outta Compton, Drumline: A New Beat) as Ohoro Munroe/Storm, and Olivia Munn (Iron Man 2, Deliver Us from Evil) as Psylock. Wow, talk about a mouthful. I almost gave up on that half way through, to be honest. This is the final film in the second X-Men trilogy.

This movie was great. I enjoyed every part of it, which makes me wonder what all the legit critics are complaining about. But they were right about that slamming beginning. So let’s get down to it.The set up to this movie was glorious. The way each character new and old was introduced for this new installment was just great. I think the introduction I liked best was when we first see Magneto. No spoilers of course, but it’s a doozy.

Of the original cast I think the stand outs of this movie are of course Professor X, Magneto, and Quicksilver. These three have always been amazing and their roles in this movie is no exception. James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender’s portrayals as always bring the kind of gravitas one expects from the X-Men franchise, and Quicksilver brings the small bits of comedy that help bring us out of some dark moments. This movie isn’t exactly funny, but there is laughter. It’s all intentional, don’t worry, but it’s just lovely to have a bit of comedy. Of the new characters (well, new portrayals of characters), I think Nightcrawler was my favorite. But all the new characters were amaze, don’t get me wrong. Nightcrawler was just such a kid even though he’s blue and has a tail. He also added a bit of comedy to this, mostly because he’s very different from the the other gifted youngsters. He’s nice but an odd fellow. But lovable. And Tye Sheridan’s Cyclops was lovely. And Sansa Stark as Jean Grey was a very good choice. I should probably use her real name, Sophie Turner, but she will always be Sansa in my heart. I never really got attached to the original Jean Grey, the first X-Men trilogy was just before my time enough for me to have never really got into her. So I’m happy that this is a Jean I can really grow with.I wish I saw a bit more of these kids. I thought Jubilee was more of a character in this movie than she was, so that was a bummer.

As for Apocalypse, I wasn’t that into him. At times he was a cool villain, but in the pantheon of villains he is not that one we will put in the top five. For a guy they call Apocalypse you’d think he’d be more …. not exactly scary but intimidating. I never got that fear that the world was gonna end. As for his horsemen, they were pretty cool. Angel was super cool. He was very hardcore and I appreciated that. Storm actually stuck with her accent. Yes, shade is being thrown to Halle Berry. Thank you for noticing. And I did like Alexandra Shipp in the role. I am ready to see her carry on with this role, whenever that happens. Psylock actually seemed to be barely in this. I wasn’t really interested in her anywho, so no harm done I suppose.

All in all, I liked this movie. It wasn’t up to the caliber of the other movies in this trilogy, nor was it the strongest finish, but it was a good movie. And enjoyable even if you haven’t seen the other movies. It’s a fun blockbuster worth taking your buds to.

So that’s our non-spoiler review of X-Men: Apocalypse! Look out for the spoiler review of this movie and all the other stuff Sprom will be doing in the coming days. I hope you enjoyed this and I hope you enjoy X-Men: Apocalypse!

 

Leave a Reply

