Box Office Battle 9/16-9/18

First off, sorry I’m such a bum. I meant to post a what’s out for this weekend, but it just didn’t happen. My bad, won’t happen again. Or at least not any time soon. But anyway life went on and movies came out even if I was not here to tell you about them. Though I wouldn’t be surprised if my not talking about them lead to such low numbers this week … Let me show you what I mean.

1. Sully – $22,000,000

Keeping is place in the top spot is non other than Tom Hanks starring and Clint Eastwood directed Sully. With a very pleasing drop of only 37%, this movie seems to be doing just fine. Having made $10 million over the budget cost in these two weeks I think it’s safe to say that this biopic will be labeled a win for all involved. Only time will tell if the Oscars will nominate the piece but no matter what it’s doing pretty well for itself even in September.

2. Blair Witch – $9,650,000

Taking the silver is the unexpected sequel Blair Witch. Why unexpected? Well I’ll tell you. Once upon a time in a far away land called Hollywood there was a movie called The Woods. Now, no one really cared about The Woods because what kind of name is The Woods? So the movie was created without any sort of buzz. Then came the great celebration of geekdom we all lovingly know as San Diego Comic Con. At SDCC there was a screening for The Woods, but of course nobody cared. But then, on the day of the screening people starting saying that that lame movie called The Woods was actually a sequel to the hyper successful horror movie The Blair Witch Project. And the rumors were true. Adam Wingard (You’re Next) creating a Blair Witch Project sequel right under our noses. And it’s doing okay. It practically doubled its budget, but it made $20 million less than The Blair Witch Project did opening weekend. Things that may have made some less eager to go out and see it? The unfortunate sequel to TBWP that came out in 2000, Book of Shadows: Blair Witch 2. Let’s just pretend that this is the only sequel there is, shall we?

3. Bridget Jones’ Baby – $8,240,715

Sliding into third is Bridget Jones’ Baby, the third movie in the Bridget Jones franchise. Now not the best numbers but I have a feeling they’ll make their $35 million back. As a person who will likely never see this movie but enjoyed the trailer and always enjoys Patrick Dempsey, I say go see it if you like the trailer. I don’t know why but I am now kind of rooting for the success of this movie. So why not check it out? Unprotected sex and Colin Firth?! What more could one want?

4. Snowden – $8,023,329

Coming in whatever’s after bronze is Snowden. Starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt, this Oliver Stone directed piece has been a movie talked about for quite a bit. It’s a bit disappointing it only made this much, but it’s not super surprising. I’ve heard people say the movie isn’t pulling them in as much as they like and JGL does a weird voice. It’s a shame but sometimes that happens. I wonder if the real Snowden liked it.

5. Don’t Breathe – $5,600,000

And to finish off the top five is Don’t Breathe, the movie that made it official that this Summer was the Summer of good horror. Now full disclosure I was not that into Lights Out. I laughed more than I jumped in that one. However I did enough it, alone with The Conjuring 2. I have yet to see Don’t Breathe but considering how well it’s been doing I’m sure it’s something worth checking out.

Honorable Mentions

22. The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years

Made less than a million built come on, it’s the Beatles. Not mentioning it would be a disservice to the world and I’m sure the surviving members would agree.

So that’s this week in movies! What did you think of this week? Are there any real contenders for next week? Talk about it in the comments and don’t forget to like, share, and follow Sprom for more Box Office Battles and other things in the world of movie news.

Source: http://www.boxofficemojo.com/weekend/chart/

Leave a Reply

