What’s Out? St. Patrick’s Day Edition

Happy St. Pattie’s day! I hope your Friday is filled will lots of Guinness, green, and pinching! But on to the movies coming out this weekend!

Beauty and The Beast (2017) – Bill Condon

eu_batb_flex-hero_header_r_430eac8d

For the biggest movie coming out this weekend, we have the live action remake of the animated classic Beauty and the Beast. Starring Emma Watson as Belle and Dan Stevens as the Beast, this movie seems to be something nice to go to on a Saturday afternoon. From all the ads I’ve seem, I can only assume that this movie is essentially a shot-for-shot remake of the Best Picture nominated Disney movie (yes I did say BEST PICTURE. The first animated movie to be nominated for Best Picture, to be exact.), which I don’t know if I mind. I do have some things off the bat that makes me wary, the biggest thing being that the CGI furniture look creepy as hell, but nothing too massive that my movie experience would be ruined. I am intrigued by this whole Lefou gay thing. I still find it weird that this is the character that had to be the first openly gay character in a Disney movie. It’s like, he was never relevant enough to get his own song in the original, let along a sexuality. He was just Gaston’s short sidekick. Apparently he has some kinda gay scene, which is a big reason why I want to  see this movie to be honest. I want to know what was so perfect for this movie that Lefou had to be so openly gay. It’ll be interesting, to say the least.

 

The Belko Experiment – James Gunn

belkoheader

Now something for the adults, we have The Belko Experiment. A gory story of 80 American businesspeople who are locked in a building and told to fight to the death to survive. I’m sure you’ve heard many jokes about this movie and the cutthroat world of business, so I will refrain from using them. This movie has had my eye since January and with James Gunn behind the camera you know it’s gonna be something cool. And there are a bunch of random famous-ish people in this that make me happy. Dr. Cox from Scrubs, the President from Scandal, and Sean Gunn cause it seems James Gunn can’t make a movie without throwing his baby bro into the picture as well. This movie is gonna be bloody and entertaining, so keep the kiddies at home and go out to see this Saturday night.

So what are you seeing this weekend? I’m finally seeing Get Out tonight, so that’s cool. How do you feel about Lefou being gay and just getting a bigger role in general? Why do you think James Gunn always puts his bro in his films? Talk about it in the comments and don’t forget to like, share, and follow Sprom for more news on what’s out and other things in the world of movie news.

 

 

Leave a Reply

